My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

My Little Bs Have the Big C

Leave a comment

One of the awful legacies in my family is that we have a long and strong history of breast cancer; my great-grandfather, grandmother, her sister, my aunts and cousins.  In July of 2014, I was diagnosed with breast cancer, the first of my generation in my family and by far the youngest.

The good news is that my cancer is treatable and my amazing team of doctors are going for the cure. The hard news is that I will need a mastectomy in my right breast, chemotherapy and hormone therapy.

I am starting this blog to document my experience but also to create a space to join a discussion about young adults with breast cancer.  The average age for a woman to get breast cancer is 63.  So what about all of us who get it in our 20’s, 30’s and 40’s?  I hope to tackle some of the unique issues we face from treatment to fertility to beauty.

I want to be clear that every cancer is unique.  My experience should never be taken as medical advice.  Always consult the doctors you have trusted with your care before making any decisions but please feel free to use what you read here as a springboard for discussion and advocacy.  

I wish all of you who read this blog love, peace and healing, whether you are living with cancer, a survivor, a caregiver, family or friend.  We are all going through this together.

Leave a Reply

