My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Fashion and Beauty Fridays

10 Comments

One thing I would like to focus on in this blog is feeling beautiful throughout this process.  I am only two weeks into my diagnosis but keeping up appearances has been on my mind.  One thing I know for sure is that I will be losing my hair 15 days into my chemotherapy treatment (they know the exact day!).  I will have to decide whether I want to get a wig, use scarves or both.  I know just going bald is an option but I do not think that is something I’m comfortable with.  I’m nervous about having a nice head.  I’m not sure I do, but I guess that’s one thing we’ll find out.

I don’t know the first thing about looking into wigs.  I have not had time to do that research yet.  But I was referred to an organization called, Look Good, Feel Better http://lookgoodfeelbetter.org/.  It is an organization that deals specifically with cancer related beauty issues and they have seminars in hospitals all over the United States.  Has anyone used them or know someone who has?

I will be looking into an introductory event for myself soon but am not sure I will get to do it before my surgery.  I will have 4-6 weeks post surgery before I start my chemo so I have some time.  I just thought I’d share this link. 

Do any of you have organizations, salons, stores, people who deal with this that you can share?  Let’s build some resources for our community.

10 thoughts on “Fashion and Beauty Fridays

  1. A friend of mine just posted today that she kept most of her hair through chemo with the Penguin Cold Caps. I had never heard of them before but here they are: https://penguincoldcaps.com/

    Sending good thoughts to you!

    • I will definitely look into these. The doctor who explains it on the site is a bit creepy (have you watched it?) but I will discuss the possibility with my oncologist. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

  2. My hair started falling out on day 13. Here’s the thing- it didn’t all come out! Five days of shedding, then my scalp stopped tingling and everything left is firmly rooted… for now. My second chemo wad two days ago: guess I have to wait to be bald, which will be preferable to the thin coverage I have now.
    I bought tonnes of scarves at thrift stores, and practiced tying them so I was well prepared. And I’ve ordered some fun, inexpensive wigs from an amazing local stylist who specializes in showgirls and drag artists. I’m as well prepared as I xan be to be a bald lady!

    • I love the idea of buying scarves at vintage stores. I can get some really funky ones. I’ve also toyed with the idea of getting a crazy wig. I thought blue would suit me. You might be inspiring me, Kimberly!

  3. My adored stylist gave me an amazing blue colour and cut as a gift. It was a fun way to say goodbye to having hair… and shedding short blue tresses (like a moulting Smurf) was emotionally easier than long red strands. Turns out I love having blue hair, so I sent away for a blue wig!

  4. I love it!!!!!! I’ve always wanted to dye my hair a crazy color. It’s also interesting that it helped you deal with the hair loss. I don’t know how I’m going to be with that. I know it’s a small price to pay for hopefully living a long life but I think the moment I have to shave my head will be really traumatizing.

  5. Carrie, the advice I got was to NOT shave my head- it’s better to let it fall out on its own. The reason why is because the scalp will be all tingly and irritable, and that hair has to come out anyway, and if it’s down to stubble it’ll feel like pins and needles!

    Having said that, some older patients told me they definitely shaved it and felt empowered. Just saying, the choice is yours.

  6. That’s interesting. Who told you to not shave your head? My oncologist gave the opposite advice. But it’s good to put down in my question book to double check.
    I’m thinking of shaving my head slowly, like looking like Miley for a few days. I’m hoping that a slow change will be easier on my son. The bonus points will be that I get to live out my punk rock fantasies.

  7. I’ve a friend whose mom had chemo for breast cancer, and she said that her mom also lost her eyebrows and eyelashes. Maybe practice drawing on eyebrows with a pencil while you have them, so you can get a good feel for the arch placement? And there are so many options these days for false eyelashes, or even lash extensions (someone literally glues individual lashes onto your lid).

    • Ya. I’ve thought about the fact that I’m going to lose my eyebrows and lashes. I think that’s what hurts the most. I’m thinking of going to the Anastasia Brow Studio in Sephora and asking them to teach me how to use their products.

Leave a Reply

