My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

“Are You Going to Have Another?”

Leave a comment

large-family-38097202

Almost immediately after giving birth to one child someone (usually someone tactless) asks, “are you planning on having another?”  It seems over time that question gets asked more and more.  I have been hearing it a lot lately.

But here’s the thing.  Even if I wanted one (which I’m not sure I do), I probably won’t be able to have another.  One awful fact, and the hardest one to hear, is that chemotherapy will age my ovaries 10 years.  10 F*CKING YEARS!!!!!  The likelihood of having anything usable at that point is very slim.  It was recommended that I seek out advice on fertility and harvesting my eggs (because thinking about how I’m going to live with cancer for a while is clearly not enough).

Through guidance and google searching, I learned that Livestrong provides information to young cancer patients to help with fertility.  They have helped find a fertility clinic that will harvest and freeze my eggs for free (the price can be a staggering $7000-$9000!!!!) along with 2 consultations.  Storage of eggs is not included.  This is great because I also learned that my insurance does not cover any fertility treatments whatsoever.  

So, tomorrow I am going to the fertility clinic.  Not because I’m sure I want another child.  But because I’m not sure that I don’t.  I don’t want to have any regrets down the line.  So I’m going to find out what my options are.  I don’t think that I have many.

Does anyone have any experience with fertility pre-chemo treatment?  Or surrogacy?  Adoption with a cancer survivor as a parent?  

Leave a Reply

