My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Fertility Clinic Appointment

Leave a comment

Today I met with a fertility doctor to discuss the possibility of harvesting my eggs.  In yesterday’s post I highlighted the fertility support of the Livestrong Foundation and they guided me to the Sher Institute of Reproductive Medicine.  I was blown away by the support that was offered through this program.

If I were to pay for the whole process of harvesting and freezing my eggs, including fertility medicine, I would be paying close to $10,000 out of pocket.  With this program, I am provided all my fertility medications by the Livestrong Foundation at no cost and the Sher Institute provides, 2 consultations, freezing, harvesting and 2 years of storage all for NO COST!!!!!!  The only cost I might incur is the fee for the anesthesiologist if my insurance won’t cover it.  

My mind was blown today.  I feel like it’s a big weight that has been lifted off my shoulders.  I still don’t know if I want children but I’m relieved that I don’t have to make this decision right now and can focus on my treatment.  

I want to be clear, this process isn’t free forever. After 2 years I have to pay an annual fee to store my eggs and if I ever want to use them, the thawing, inseminating and IVF will cost more than $10,000.  That’s a lot of money.  But there’s time to figure it out.  

If you are a young woman who has been diagnosed with cancer and are considering the possibility of becoming a parent or growing your family in the future, I highly suggest you look into this program.  Again, the link is in the post below.  

Has anyone had any experience doing this?  Did you use this program or do it on your own?  Are you glad you did it?

Leave a Reply

