My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Today I Remember

Leave a comment

This blog is meant to document my experience with breast cancer and eventually serve as a source of information for those living with the disease.  And while I am going through the most difficult time in my life, there is not a day that goes by that I don’t think about people all over the world who are living their own personal hell due to the actions of terrorists.  It’s at these times that my own problems feel small and I am oh so grateful to be living in a place where I have a team of doctor’s, family and friends who are fighting to help me survive.  I know that all over the world; Iraq, Syria, Somalia, Mexico, Nigeria, Palestine…families are living on their own in fear, trying every moment to stay alive.  Today is a tribute to just a small group of them, for I could not possibly list them all.

bring back

It has been several months since the young girls in a small Nigerian village have been captured by a militant group called Boko Haram.  They have yet to be found and this is unacceptable.  I know that many terrible things have been happening in the world since then but it is of the utmost importance that we do not forget about these girls and still make their rescue a priority.

isis

We watch the news in horror every day about the brutality inflicted by ISIS on men, women and children who are not of the Muslim faith.  Their acts are barbaric and unrelenting.  As a mother, I can not imagine the fear and horror that these families are facing right at this very moment as they struggle to stay alive.  My thoughts are constantly with them as I sit here helplessly.  Waiting.  Hoping.

tower lights

And finally, today is the day I remember the attack on my city, my country, my home.  I remember the brave people of the FDNY, NYPD, Transit Authority, brave civilians who risked and lost their lives to save others.  I remember the families who lost loved ones.  I remember how my home changed forever.  I remember that safety is now an illusion and that life will always be a risk.  Today is a day of remembrance.

I invite you all in my comments section to please add to the list of those we should remember today here and around the world so that we can all be educated and unite to make this world a safe place for everyone to live.

Leave a Reply

