My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

My Journey

Leave a comment

Today I went back to work.  Well, I wouldn’t call it work, exactly.  I work for the Roundabout Theatre Company as one of their teaching artists and they are having their fall TA Lab (training) this week.  I knew that if I didn’t go everyone would understand but the Roundabout team is like a family and each time we get together it’s like a reunion.  And we laugh our asses off.  So I wanted to be there so I could get my mind off my life, laugh and be around talented and creative people.

What I didn’t expect was that one of the exercises we were going to have to do was think about our goals for this year; artistic, teaching artistry, personal, etc…and think about what our journey would be like to get there.  We were told to discuss it with a partner.  My goal this year is to be cancer free but to also find as much joy in my work as possible.  I love what I do but sometimes working with youth can be very difficult and frustrating.  It’s not always fun and I don’t always have a good time.  But that’s not what I want this year.  Even in my most difficult situations, I want to find the joy.  Because everything else in my life (not family or friends) is going to pretty much suck.

After discussing our goals, we were told to make a map of our journey.  We could be as artistic as we liked, literal, abstract, anything at all.  I’m not much of a visual artist (stick figures are hard) but I came up with my map of how I was going to reach joy in my life and becoming cancer free.  See my map below.

photo-19

I know I’m going to get there.  But the journey is long.

Leave a Reply

