My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Thanks For the Mammaries

Leave a comment

I’m a little breast cancer obsessed these days.  Can you believe it?  I go to different magazines and newspapers and search the term.  Today I was on nymag.com and one of the first articles that popped up was, Artist Turns Breast Cancer Into Cause for Humorous, Boob-Themed Art Show.  That is not the only cool thing she did.

When Bettina Hubby found out she had breast cancer, just like most of you, her friends and family were devastated and surrounded her with love but “reacted with panic, fear and sadness.”  She understood why that would be the normal reaction but, like me, wanted more.

The night before her mastectomy, she started a facebook page called, “Thanks For the Mammaries” and asked her friends to send her boob themed jokes, photographs, art, etc.  When she woke up the next day, she had hundreds of replies.  How cool is that?  This is what prompted her to commission art and start an art show that was boob themed.  She will be my hero of the night.

Photo taken from Thanks For The Mammaries facebook page

Photo taken from Thanks For The Mammaries facebook page. It’s a potato!!!!

How fun would it be to do the same thing in the comment section of this post?  Send me a boob joke!  A picture of fruit that looks like boobs.  A picture of your boobs (or boob if you have only one right now like me).  Boob art.   It doesn’t matter.  I think this can be fun.  Here is my favorite picture from her art show.  I know how that poor boobie feels.

Photo courtesy of NY Magazine.  Marcella Ruble, "Tit Sign," courtesy of Thanks For The Mammaries

Photo courtesy of NY Magazine. Marcella Ruble, “Tit Sign,” courtesy of Thanks For The Mammaries

I don’t know if you remember, but if you look at this post, you can scroll down and remember how I sought my power before my surgery.

Leave a Reply

