My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Little Punk!

10 Comments

With chemo starting on Wednesday and just over two weeks until hair loss, I’ve been trying to figure out what to do to make that transition not just easier for myself, but for Oliver as well.  I don’t think hair loss is by far the worst thing I’m going to experience but I imagine that losing my hair will be traumatic.  I have had it for over 37 years, after all.

So here’s what I did.  I decided that I wanted to shave at least part of my head so that I could get a sense of what my head looks like.  I still wanted to be feminine and soft but I also figured that this would be a good time to do something I would never normally do.  Here are some of my inspiration pictures.  shaved 1

This was the first picture I saw that I connected with.  She still has some length to her hair which gives it a soft, feminine look but the shaved sides give it that edge.

shaved 3

I really liked this second picture.  It’s still soft but the hair is a little longer on the side.  Cut, not quite shaved but still has a lot of edge to it without having to use the buzzer.

shaved 2

I’ve always liked Ginnifer Goodwin’s pixie cut.  When she got it last year(?) it made me think twice about my own cut and should I try something like this.  I never had the guts.

Today I went to the stylist I have been seeing for years and years.  Since she knows me and knows my style so well, I felt that she would be perfect to do this for me.  She really liked my inspiration pictures and heard my concerns about wanting to be prepared for hair loss but still wanting to feel pretty until that happens.  She celebrated the fact that I was going out of my comfort zone but also made sure I was mentally ready.  I don’t know if mentally ready was the right phrase to use, but I felt like I was doing something I needed to do.  It had to get done.

Here are the steps to my new look.

Step 1

Step 1

Practicing my "Don't mess with me!" look.

Practicing my “Don’t mess with me!” look.

Funny hair

Funny hair

More snip, snip!

More snip, snip!

It's taking shape

It’s taking shape

Half gone

Half gone

Stylin'.

Stylin’.

Flatten it out.

Flatten it out.

Final result.

Final result.

Side view.

Side view.

Back view.

Back view.

More back view

More back view

Long side view.

Long side view.

It’s a little punk but still soft.  What do you think?  It’s such a big change for me.  One moment I love it and then I’m not so sure.  When Oliver saw me, he didn’t seem to notice a difference.  Typical guy!!!!  But really, it’s a relief that he didn’t care. It gives me hope that he won’t be upset when I completely lose my hair.  I’ve been very worried about his reaction.  We will see what he thinks.

For now, I’m getting used to my new look and getting ready for my new life as a chemo patient.  More to come on that.

10 thoughts on “Little Punk!

  1. I think it looks great and is definitely a choice for when your hair comes back in all it’s glory!

  2. You are rockin it!

  3. Your cut looks fab! I’m also in the process of losing my hair (due to alopecia). I’ve been looking into wigs but I never thought about cutting my hair short to help prepare for the transition. It seems like a really great idea. Thanks for sharing your story.

    – K
    http://baldingbeauty.com

Leave a Reply

