My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Suck On This

8 Comments

This post is a little late in the making but I wanted to share anyway.  The holidays were a bummer for me this year.  They came and went without much fanfare or acknowledgement.  It wasn’t just because I was hospitalized or had health setbacks, I just wasn’t feeling it this year.  But at some point, despite my holiday blues, something came over me.

I wanted to make other people smile.  It was something I had to do.  So, a few days after Christmas, but before New Year’s, I was finally able to resume chemotherapy and that day, every patient who was getting treatment with me got one of these.

IMG_6376And on the back it said, “Happy Holidays!”

I made 50.  Everyone got one.  Some I got to hand it to personally, others I just slipped it under the curtain because either they were sleeping or I got the sense they didn’t want to be disturbed.  Some people seemed really happy and shocked to be receiving something.  Other people seemed really confused (like, really, really confused).  With the exception of one person, I don’t know how it went over.  I hope it brought a smile to people’s faces.

I deal with a lot of the trauma associated with cancer with sarcasm.  Not everyone does so I knew that this card would be a risk.  But, for me, it was a risk worth taking.

What would have been your reaction if you were slipped one of these cards out of the blue?

8 thoughts on “Suck On This

  1. I would have smiled. Then I would have eaten it and wished you’d enclosed two.

  2. I would have sucked on it with a vengeance, as if by sucking the candy cane, I was fighting the cancer. And I would have laughed at cancer the whole time! And I would have hugged you.

  3. They would have made me laugh and I would have inhaled that Candy.

  4. I would have laughed and loved the gesture.

Leave a Reply

