My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Breast Cancer In Uganda

2 Comments

Photo by Lynsey Addario, taken from nytimes.com

Photo by Lynsey Addario, taken from nytimes.com

I was listening to WNYC again today (a great source of inspiration these days) and they did an interview with war photographer, Lynsey Addario.  She has worked all over the world in conflict zones, capturing lives of men, women and children in all aspects of war; civilians, soldiers, heroes, victims, survivors, the dead…  Her work is incredible.

Among the stories she tells with her camera lens, she has documented the conflict zone of breast cancer in Uganda.  She followed several women through post surgery, chemotherapy and last weeks and days of life.  The photographs are striking, shocking and incredibly sad.  I can’t say that I’m shocked by the images or the depiction of a medical system that is completely lacking in resources.  I’m not surprised at all.  But I’m saddened and guilty for having so much in regards to my care.  Why is it that I have and they have not?  Why do I get a bed to sleep in when I am ill from chemotherapy and they get a rug on the floor?  Why do I have nurses come to my home and tend to my wounds while these women change their own bandages.

I know the fear they must be feeling but I don’t know the despair.  Not in the same way.

Please take a look at these photos and arm yourself with the knowledge of what healthcare in breast cancer treatment looks like in another part of the world.  What can we do to help change things?  What can we do to ensure that every woman in every area in the world has the same opportunity at care that I do?

2 thoughts on “Breast Cancer In Uganda

  1. Those were very difficult pictures to view. There but for the grace of God go I…

Leave a Reply

