My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Mommy Mondays: No Bones

3 Comments

We all know what toddlers are like.  When the are good, they are wonderful.  But when they are bad…watch out!!!  Oliver is much of the same.

When he is have a good day (or good moment), it is amazing.  He will joke around, sing, dance, laugh, play, try out a new sentence, sing his abc’s, talk about trains and more.  But that can switch on a dime.  Lately, when Oliver is throwing a temper tantrum or gets upset, he will drop down on the floor and lay there completely limp.  The goal, on his end, is to ensure that picking him up is as physically difficult as possible.  And it is.  Because I don’t have a normal 2 year old.  I have a 38 inch, 34 pound 2 year old (that’s the size of an average 3 1/2 – 4 year old)!

Initiating "no bones" sequence.

Initiating “no bones” sequence.

Beginning public tantrum by rolling around and screaming.

Beginning public tantrum by rolling around and screaming.

Screaming bloody murder as if I was the worst mother ever because I took him to the National Air and Space Museum and showed him the inside of an airplane.  GASP!

Screaming bloody murder as if I was the worst mother ever because I took him to the National Air and Space Museum and showed him the inside of an airplane. GASP!

Dealing with these things is hard under normal circumstances.  We’ve all seen it and if you have children, you know from experience.  But dealing with the tantrums while weakened by chemotherapy is a whole different ball game.  We don’t just deal with the “no bones” tantrums.  We also have the hitting, kicking, thrashing tantrums.  And because I’m still Oliver’s primary caregiver, I deal with most of these.

I don’t know when it happened but about three weeks ago I had a pull in my arm on the side where I had my mastectomy.  I can’t pinpoint exactly when I pulled it but I can bet you anything it was when I was dealing with Oliver.  Even if it wasn’t, every time I had to pick him up off the floor, hold him while he was angry or frustrated or lift him in his crib for a time out, it would make the pull worse.  As a result, I couldn’t stretch my arm all the way up, normal daily activities were painful and lifting Oliver was a challenge.

I’m on the mend now but because the injury was on the side of my surgery, I now have to go for a physical therapy consult.  For.  Real.  This is not a terrible thing but I already have no time in my schedule.  Between work, raising Oliver and treatment, I have nothing left.  But I have to do this.  So I can keep lifting Oliver, no matter what his mood is.

Why does everything have to suck?

3 thoughts on “Mommy Mondays: No Bones

  1. Hang in there, Mama. And live for those naps! xo

Leave a Reply

