My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Last Chemo, Bitches!!!!!!

3 Comments

Yesterday was the day I have been waiting for.  I’ve been waiting for more than seven months, since I’ve been diagnosed.  When I woke up, I couldn’t wrap my head around the fact that by the end of the day, I’d never have to put that poison in my body again.  Chemo has been a part of my life for five months.  It was my weekly reminder that I was gravely and deeply ill.  It’s become my new normal and now it’s over and I get to figure a new normal again.

Some people mourn the end of their chemotherapy treatments.  They feel like they are leaving the umbrella of safety that chemo provides and while terrible, it’s better than the alternative.  Then there are people like me who are like, “Peace out, chemo!  See ya, wouldn’t wanna be ya!”  I came into my treatment skipping and screaming with glee (seriously!).  I decided that this day was going to be a celebration.  And it was.  Yesterday, Infusion Floor 5, Cubicle 19 was the par-tay room!

IMG_7224I decorated my room with tissue paper garlands and a poster that I made which read, “My Last Chemo!  Take a Picture With Me!”  I wore a pretty new dress and a feather in my fuzz (hair).

My treatment started off normally with my blood tests (which came back with great numbers!) with a predictably long wait for the pharmacy to bring me my herceptin and chemo.  In the meantime, my aunt Vickie came to sit with me and Ken went to get the cake that he had made me for the occasion.

IMG_7226Once the infusion began, Ken and I opened a bottle of champagne and I had a one woman dance party.

IMG_7230 IMG_0399 IMG_0435Ken worried that the music and my dancing around were going to bother the neighbors but I didn’t care.  This was my day to celebrate and nothing was going to stop me.

When the chemo was almost done, my oncologist, Dr. Jhevari, nurse practitioner, Heidi, nutritionist, Amanda, clinical trial nurse, Alyssa, and my beloved oncology nurse, Nina came to celebrate with cake.  It was amazing to be surrounded by wonderful, strong, smart, nurturing and caring women who have had my back this whole time.  Please meet my team.

IMG_7243

Heidi, my nurse practitioner, cast mate (we were in my father’s high school musical “Brigadoon” together!), and dear friend, me and Aunt Vickie

IMG_7244

Me and Dr. Jhevari. She’s a powerhouse!

IMG_7247

Me and Amanda, my nutritionist.

IMG_7248

Me and Nina, my oncology nurse. Isn’t she the cutest?

IMG_7252

Me and Alyssa, my clinical trial nurse.

IMG_7250 When I was unhooked from my IVs for the last time (well, not the last because I still get herceptin, but still…) I jumped for joy, cried a little as Nina gave me a big hug.  I’ve never been so happy to say goodbye to anything like I was to say goodbye to chemotherapy.

It is tradition in many hospitals that when you have completed chemotherapy treatment, you ring a bell.  For some reason, the 5th floor doesn’t have a bell.  So I marched myself up to the 6th floor where the do have a bell, announced that I needed to ring it, walked in and rang it so hard, nurses from all corners of the floor peeked out and to see who the crazy person was who was ringing over and over (you’re supposed to do it three times) and then congratulated me.

Ringing the bell to signify my last chemo treatment.

Ringing the bell to signify my last chemo treatment.  You can tell by Ken’s face how loud it was.

After we left, Ken took me out to a fancy lunch at ABC Kitchen.  We had a wonderful meal of pretzel crusted calamari, fresh ricotta cheese and toast, sauteed shrimp over local micro greens and sauteed hake with root vegetables.  It was amazing to have a private celebration.  Ken deserved it as much (almost!) as I did.  He worked hard these last five months too.

Lunch at ABC Kitchen.  Upside down poster!

Lunch at ABC Kitchen. Upside down poster!

As wonderful as all of this was; the music, dancing, cake, family, noise makers, and my caretakers celebrating with me, this was not the highlight of my day.  Not by a long shot.

Tomorrow, the part of my day that brought about the unexpected in the best possible way.

P.S. Thank you for all of the congratulations and well wishes that I got from everybody.  You give me the strength to do the impossible.

3 thoughts on “Last Chemo, Bitches!!!!!!

  1. Congrats to you!! I am happy this part of the process is over. It is so interesting how every patient is different. For me I had what I called, “my chemical romance” (which I will be posting about very soon). I felt safe with chemo so I had anxiety when it stopped. Of course you would want to feel more normal and less sick, but somehow for me, it became a secured place. Now you go celebrate some more: today, tomorrow, and everyday! Celebrate life.

    • Thanks, smallc. I’ve heard about the other perspective, where the chemo becomes a blanket of safety. It makes sense. My aunt went through that. I hope you find peace with the experience you had and trust that you got just what you needed to kick cancer’s ass. I look forward to reading what you post. It might be nice to guest blog for each other so that readers can get different perspectives.

  2. Pingback: Zoladex Was Supposed To Be A Pain In The Ass (Plus Another Anniversary) | My Little Bs Have the Big C

Leave a Reply

