My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Instacart

1 Comment

photo from nytimes.com

photo from nytimes.com

Ladies and gentlemen, I would like to share with you a grocery delivery service that was just brought to my attention this week that seriously helped me out.  It’s called, Instacart.  Instacart is a San Francisco based startup that began in 2012.  It allows you to shop at your favorite grocery stores from the comfort of your couch.  All of the prices are the same as in the store unless noted.  The best part is you can schedule a delivery as soon as an hour from when you click the “purchase” button!!!!

I wish I had heard about this service when I was going through chemo.  I know that there is Fresh Direct but sometimes you have to wait a day or two for deliveries and I found it easier (well, sometimes not) to just go to a grocery store and just get my shopping done.  During the worst part of my chemo, this was hard; pushing a cart, reaching for items that were too high, carrying bags from the car to my home while simultaneously chasing a toddler…  What was I thinking?

This service is not just a great idea for busy New Yorkers and busy moms and dads but is great for anyone who is undergoing treatment for cancer.  Now that I am doing radiation which requires me to be at the hospital five days a week, I don’t have to worry how I’ll get my shopping done.  For just a delivery charge of $3.99 and a generous tip, it comes to my door at a the convenient time I choose (they give hour windows and will email and text when they are close).  Another awesome thing the do is that they will text you if the store is out of an item you want and will make a suggestion for a replacement item!

I had such a good experience with my first delivery.  I will be sure to use them again.  In my zip code, I was able to choose from Whole Foods, Fairway, Costco, Key Foods and Provisions.  I typed in a random Manhattan zip code and surprisingly, the only choices were Costco, Fairway and Whole Foods.  But still, saved time is saved time!!!!

$10 off your first order!!!!

*I am in no way being sponsored by this company.  I’m just a satisfied customer.

One thought on “Instacart

  1. I don’t understand why I didn’t take advantage of such services during treatments? You live and learn. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

