My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Saying Good-bye

22 Comments

Today I had to say goodbye to my wonderful, caring, beautiful oncologist, Dr. Komal Jhaveri.  Three weeks ago she informed me that she was leaving NYU for Memorial Sloane Kettering Cancer Center.  I think this is a big career move so I couldn’t be happier for her.

However, on the first day we met, she informed me that our relationship was “for life.”  I took that to heart.  I can follow her to Sloane if I want to but she suggested that I remain at NYU for the duration of my clinical trial, until November, and see how I gel with my new oncologist.  I agreed that this was a fair solution, even if it’s one that I don’t like so much.

So, goodbye for now, Dr. Jhaveri!  Thank you for all you have done for me and my family.

If you are at Sloane or will be going to Sloane, I highly suggest you look up Dr. Jhaveri.  And tell her Carrie said, “Hi!”

IMG_7244

22 thoughts on “Saying Good-bye

  1. I am/was also a patient of Dr. Jhaveri’s and was upset to find out yesterday that she left NYU. I was googling to see where she went and came across this blog. Have you seen another oncologist at NYU yet? Is it someone you would recommend?

    • Hi, I’m so sorry it has taken 4 days to write back. I had a very busy wedding weekend for my sister-in-law. I miss Dr. Jhaveri. I saw another doctor briefly, Dr. Esteva. I did not like him at all. I’m sure he’s competent but he does not know how to talk to a patient. He was in and out and didn’t engage me in conversation at all. I’m seeing Dr. Meyers next week and I’ve heard good things about her. I can report back after I meet her if you’d like. You can also follow Dr. Jhaveri at Sloane if you’d like. She’s going on maternity leave soon but she’ll be coming back to work in the fall.

  2. Hi, I was also a patient of Dr Jhaveri and was told to pick another Dr. Any recommendations?
    So sorry to see her go. She was the best !

    • Hi, I am now seeing Dr. Marlene Meyers at NYU and I really like her. She’s easy to talk to and very caring. Stay clear of Dr. Esteva. I found him cold and lacking personality. Let me know who you decide to go with!

      • I agree completely with you. Dr. Esteva is a big dud. After seeing him,after a very long wait, I feel so lost. There is no direction, no clear treatment path. I asked to change to Dr. Adams, she refused. I am very angry about that. Thinking seriously about going to MSK.

      • I’m sorry you had such a bad experience. Have you tried to get in with Dr. Marlene Meyers? I love her. I don’t know Dr. Adams. If you can’t find a doctor you like at NYU, go back to Jhevari at MSK. She told me that I could always switch back to her so I’m sure the invitation is extended to all of her patients. Let me know what happens. I hope you are doing well.

  3. I finally made the decision to leave NYU. Going to see Dr. J next week. Dr. Esteva is the worst doctor I have ever come in contact with. I don’t know how they could allow him to keep his position. Was on Ibrance. Not working so my next try will be with Xeloda. Any input on that drug?

    • Lynda, good for you. In my two minutes of dealing with Esteva, I knew instantly that he was a nincompoop. I’m glad you’re going back to Javheri. Please send her my love.
      I do not know the drugs Ibrance or Xeloda. What do they treat exactly? I’m done with treatment now but am on Tamoxifen and will be starting Zoladex, an ovarian suppressor, which did well in studies with women who were under 35 years old at diagnosis (I was 37 and my oncologist says that’s close enough).
      Good luck with your switch.

  4. I am seeing Dr. Meyers now. I like her a lot.

  5. Ibrance and Xeloda treat metastatic breast cancer. I have it in my bones and my last PET showed new tumors in my liver. Also new tumors in my femur and shoulders. Hate all these drugs although they are meant to help keep you alive the side effects are brutal. So nauseous and tired. Wish I could feel like I used to. I’m so glad you are doing well and I will definitely tell Dr. J you send her a big hello.

    • I’m early stage and don’t know (but can imagine) the challenges you must be facing with MBC. I will be on drugs, tamoxifen and zoladex which will hopefully prevent recurrence, although it’s never a guarantee, as I’m sure you understand. Are these types of chemo or another type of drug? I’m sorry you feel yucky. I think we all want our lives back. Our new normal is the pits.
      Yes, send Dr. J my love and please keep me updated on how you are doing. I’ll be thinking of you and wondering.

  6. Saw Dr. J today. what a difference between her and Dr. Esteva. She came in the room abd her smile lifted me up ten feet. Instead of the gloom and doom, Dr.E projected, she was just the opposite. So, so glad I decided to go to MSK. Should have followed my instincts and left months ago. I told Dr. J you give her a big hello and she just raved about you and your husband. So glad you’re doing well. I am facing ct scan and biopsy and a few other things in the next weeks. Going to be genome tested etc. Yes, the drugs I’m on are chemo but in pill form. Make you so nauseous and weak. Will keep you posted.

    • Awww!!!! I’m glad you saw her! Thank you for saying hello for me. That means a lot.
      Booo, to all of those tests. It’s the worst because waiting for the answers is so rough. And going through all the tests is exhausting.
      Did Dr. J have any alternatives for the chemo your on? Something that might not make you so nauseous? Or drugs to help with the nausea?

      • feeling a bit better. had the ct scans and liver biopsy. don’t know anything yet. see Dr. J on Friday. As for alternatives, it will all depend on what the genetic testing shows.

      • I understand. I hope you got good results from your tests and, if you didn’t get results you were hoping for, that you and Dr. J have come up with some good strategies going forward. Good luck and I look forward to hearing more from you.

  7. Hi Carrie,
    I just made an appointment with Dr. Jhaveri to manage my treatment after my recent surgery. I am hoping she will support my decision to try to have a baby within a few years, as my husband and I had been trying for a year when I got my diagnosis in February. It is very reassuring to see you describe her as you do, and your blog was the only thing I could find about her online. So thank you. I wish you the best of luck!

    • I’m so glad you made an appointment with her. She’s really wonderful. I’m sorry to hear about your diagnosis and how it has interfered with you starting a family. She will be honest about your choices and options based on your cancer. Have you harvested your eggs? If you are thinking about it and haven’t started yet, contact Livestrong. They set me up with a fertility clinic that did all of the procedures, except anesthesia, for free and provided the medications. It was incredible.
      I’m glad you found my blog helpful. Thank you for reading and tell Dr. Jhaveri I said, “hello.”

      • cARRIE, SORRY I hAVEN’T BEEN IN TOUCH. hAD AN mri yesterday of my spine. didn’t get the results yet. still seeing dr. J. xeloda has been working at least as of sept. 28. having pain in my back so dr. j wants to see what’s going on. hope u r doing well.

      • If you’re getting this message twice, sorry!

        Lynda! I’m so glad to hear from you! I’m glad the xeloda has been working and will cross my fingers that the pain in your spine is nothing (maybe you need a new mattress?). Aside from cancer, how have you been?

  8. Lynda! I’m so glad to hear from you! I’m glad the xeloda has been working and will cross my fingers that the pain in your spine is nothing (maybe you need a new mattress?). Aside from cancer, how have you been?

Leave a Reply

