My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Versatile Blogger Award

3 Comments

I want to humbly thank Momoseita for nominating me for a Versatile Blogger Award.  I’m deeply touched that people are reading what I have to write and that it is (hopefully) strengthening the community of breast cancer survivors, those newly diagnosed, caregivers, friends and more.

When I found out I had breast cancer, I was pissed off.  My answer to that anger was creating this blog with the hope that I could connect to other women who were going through the same thing, to create a space for advocacy, to let family and friends know what is going on with me and, selfishly, to vent from time to time.  I am most grateful to the women whose blogs I have been reading who inspire me every day.

As part of the rules of winning the award, I have to tell you seven things about myself.

1. I am a native New Yorker.  I’ve never lived anywhere else.  I was born in Brooklyn, raised in Staten Island, lived in Manhattan during college, moved to Queens and am now back in Brooklyn where I live with my husband and 2 1/2 year old son.

brooklynbridge2. My secret bad habit is that I like to lick my plate.  I love sauce and I can’t stand it when sauce is left over on a plate and I just have to lick it clean.  Of course, I don’t do this in public but I do it at home all the time.

3. I’m deathly afraid of cockroaches.  I seriously can’t handle them.  We get really big waterbugs (a kind name for gigantic roaches with wings) in our apartment.  I can’t go near them.  I run into another room and hide.  Once, when Oliver was three months old there was a roach the size of a mouse running around the house.  It was so big, Raid wouldn’t even kill it.  I called my husband and begged him to come home to take care of it.  He didn’t.

4. I love my work as a teaching artist but if I could choose another career, I’d be a travel photographer.  I love taking pictures and I love to travel.  What could be better than getting paid to take pictures while I explore a new culture?

A favorite travel photo of mine.

A favorite travel photo of mine.

5. My favorite movies are When Harry Met Sally, The Princess Bride, Rear Window, and Life is Beautiful.  My favorite books are Interpreter of Maladies, To Kill a Mockingbird, The Night Circus and The Time Traveler’s Wife.  My favorite musicals are A Chorus Line, Anything Goes, Fun Home and Into The Woods.  My favorite plays are Macbeth, The Normal Heart, Black Watch, Hedda Gabler, The Importance of Being Earnest and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime.  My favorite dessert is a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie.  My favorite food is mashed potatoes and stinky cheese (not together).

6. I can’t walk in high heels.  My mom never let me wear them.  She told me I couldn’t walk in them so I never learned how.  I’ve never owned a pair of stiletto heels because I’d never be able to get five feet without toppling over.

7. I can be a harsh judge of people at first but I am very loyal to my friends.  I’ve worked really hard on opening up when I first meet someone and I think I have made huge improvements.  I need to do better.

To pay it forward, I’d like to nominate some other great blogs I have started to read for the Versatile Blogger Award.

thesmallc

Jessica Wilt

Stellinasweets

3 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award

  1. First, congrats on the nomination! You deserve it.

    Thank you so much for thinking of me. You are too kind. (Is there something I need to do about it?)

    About the things you shared about yourself, you got me laughing here! You like to lick plates, hahaha! That’s actually pretty cute and honest. It’s interesting too because coming from a third country, I’ve learned to appreciate all that’s on my plate so I make sure not to leave food and if I am full, I’ll pack it. Doesn’t matter how little is left.

    Lovely pictures.

    We share the same fear about cockroaches. I. CAN’T. STAND THEM. They seem to be lazier in the States than they are in the D.R. In the D.R. they fly at you as soon as you turn on a light — fearless little monsters. They fly all over. But they are slighter skinnier there — tough life in D.R. I am sorry if you still have that roach problem. I hope it’s fixed ASAP.

    I can’t walk in heels either but mostly because I am tall. I love heels.

  2. Pingback: 15 Random Things About Me | My Little Bs Have the Big C

  3. I absolutely and utterly loved the book ‘The Night Circus’ too. I couldn’t put it down and wow, didn’t it take you places? Amazing. I also loved ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’.
    Great List

Leave a Reply

