My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Best. Idea. Ever.

4 Comments

Yesterday I was at The NYU Cancer Center to get my herceptin infusion which I get every three weeks.  The whole day took longer than expected which bummed me out because it was so beautiful outside.  The sun was shining, there was a cool breeze and the temperature was in the mid-70s.  It was perfect but I was stuck inside.

And then it hit me.  The best idea ever!

Every cancer center should have a rooftop infusion room!  Like a rooftop bar!  Think about it!  Instead of being stuck in a dull, sometimes windowless room with no color and fluorescent lighting, you could be outside in a lounge chair, under and umbrella, enjoying the day!  There could be a bar with coconut water, house made ginger ale (for those who aren’t feeling so hot), and a smoothie bar.  There would be flowers and plants that fill the air with sweet aromas so that you won’t smell that disgusting stuff they flush your port with.  It would be amazing!  It would be perfect.

Here are some rooftop bars and gardens to inspire the kind people at NYU.

The London, Hollywood.  Photo from telegraph.com/uk

The London, Hollywood. Couldn’t you just imagine getting your infusion in one of those comfy chairs under a tent? And instead of a pool, a cooling stream to soak your feet. Photo from telegraph.com/uk

Sugar, Hong Kong.  What a great way to get your chemo surrounded by all of your chemo buddies!  Photo from cnn.com

Sugar, Hong Kong. What a great way to get your chemo surrounded by all of your chemo buddies! Photo from cnn.com

Spa Bar, Stockholm.  I think I would love getting an infusion in a cushioned bubble swing!  But that's just me.  Photo from cnn.com

Spa Bar, Stockholm. I think I would love getting an infusion in a cushioned bubble swing! But that’s just me. Photo from cnn.com

St. Luke's International Hospital, Tokyo.  At least one hospital is doing it right!  Photo from Huffingtonpost.com

St. Luke’s International Hospital, Tokyo. At least one hospital is doing it right! Photo from Huffingtonpost.com

Gardens By The Bay, Singapore.  What can I say that this picture doesn't say on it's own?  Photo from cnn.com

Gardens By The Bay, Singapore. What can I say that this picture doesn’t say on it’s own? Photo from cnn.com

Green Intercontinental Resort in Sanya, Hainan, China.  It has it's own freakin' beach!!!!!!!  Photo from greenpeace.org/au

Green Intercontinental Resort in Sanya, Hainan, China. It has it’s own freakin’ beach!!!!!!! Photo from greenpeace.org/au

4 thoughts on “Best. Idea. Ever.

  1. This is an amazing idea! Nice!! 🙂

  2. This sounds pleasant. The only thing I would request though is that there are those aroma-free rooms, in case some of us get sick from the chemo. I prefer the palm trees and the water — anything nature comforts me. The outdoors.

    Good idea Carrie. I too hope this could be implemented while they find us a cure.

Leave a Reply

