My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Photos From A Family Vacation

4 Comments

I needed this.  I really, really needed this.  One of the things I have felt guilty about throughout this whole cancer debacle is how it has stolen the time I got to spend with Oliver and my family.  Every time I thought I was going to have to do something fun, something would come up; a doctor’s appointment, physical therapy, a hospital stay…  It seemed to never end and all I wanted in the world was to take Oliver to the park or a museum.

When I imagined my vacation, I hoped for being on a Caribbean island where someone would bring me drinks in a coconut while I watched Oliver build sand castles.  Financially, that did not work out but my parents offered to split the cost of a house in Martha’s Vineyard with us.  I had never been but I’ve always heard great things.  And even though it wasn’t the vacation I imagined for myself, it was the best possible escape.  Here are some highlights from our trip.  There’s a lot of Oliver so be prepared!

Fresh lobster.  This would be my last meal.

Fresh lobster. This would be my last meal.

Oliver loved throwing rocks in the ocean.

Oliver loved throwing rocks in the ocean.

DSCN0114 DSCN2183

My brother and parents

My brother and parents

Convincing Oliver to come back to the car.  Transitions were hard for him on this trip and he had a lot of meltdowns.

Convincing Oliver to come back to the car. Transitions were hard for him on this trip and he had a lot of meltdowns.

DSCN2266 DSC_0198

He loved finding bugs.  I had to dig deep and pretend that I loved it too.

He loved finding bugs. I had to dig deep and pretend that I loved it too.

DSCN2047

Rocking my bathing suit!

Rocking my bathing suit!

My dream house.  I might start a gofundme to get it!

My dream house. I might start a gofundme to get it!

Bunnies everywhere!

Bunnies everywhere!

Anniversary dinner at State Road.  The president eats there!

Anniversary dinner at State Road. The president eats there!

Oliver and Uncle Jesse

Oliver and Uncle Jesse

Maple bacon doughnut.  They say sugar feeds cancer.  Oh, well!

Maple bacon doughnut. They say sugar feeds cancer. Oh, well!

DSCN2114 DSCN2121 DSCN2122 DSCN2166 DSCN2194

We had a great time at The Farm Institute.  It was a beautiful farm with a lot of hands on activities for Oliver.

We had a great time at The Farm Institute. It was a beautiful farm with a lot of hands on activities for Oliver.

DSCN2214 DSCN2225

A burger with the fresh eggs we got from the farm.  One of the best meals we ate!

A burger with the fresh eggs we got from the farm. One of the best meals we ate!

Oliver fell in love with blueberry pie and insisted I take pictures of him with it.

Oliver fell in love with blueberry pie and insisted I take pictures of him with it.

DSCN2252 DSCN2258 DSCN2261

We got to bike ride around the island.  It felt amazing to be active.

We got to bike ride around the island. It felt amazing to be active.

A seriously giant dandelion.  Oliver was in heaven!!!

A seriously giant dandelion. Oliver was in heaven!!!

There was an alpaca farm.  I never realized what beautiful animals they are.

There was an alpaca farm. I never realized what beautiful animals they are.

DSCN2326

We extended our trip and went to Boston.  Oliver got his first balloon animal.

We extended our trip and went to Boston. Oliver got his first balloon animal.

DSCN2354

He didn't quite know what to do with his red elephant.

He didn’t quite know what to do with his red elephant.

Oliver learned a string instrument!

Oliver learned a string instrument!

DSCN2381 DSCN2680

Lobster mac and cheese.  Lucky guy!

Lobster mac and cheese. Lucky guy!

DSCN0074DSCN0072DSCN2163DSCN2159DSCN2048DSCN2038

We went bug hunting in our pjs!

We went bug hunting in our pjs!

DSCN1990

Oliver loved the water

Oliver loved the water

Diaper changing in the sand is no fun.

Diaper changing in the sand is no fun.

We set up Oliver's train tracks outside (he can't live without his train tracks).

We set up Oliver’s train tracks outside (he can’t live without his train tracks).

The house we stayed in.

The house we stayed in.

Look at that view!

Look at that view!

DSCN2367 DSCN2552 DSCN2571See photos from our first 24 hours of vacation.  Remember my cancer-moon?

4 thoughts on “Photos From A Family Vacation

  1. Wow, you guys had a lot of fun!! Sweet pictures and beautiful place. I love lobster by the way. That small house looks very appealing to me too. I’ve said it before: your son is adorable and very lucky to have you as his mom. I am glad you were able to get away and enjoy your time with your family.

  2. Glad you guys liked the island, fall is the best time if you decide to come back, weather is great the ocean is still warm and the traffic is less. My wife is a three time breast cancer survivor, we have learned how to live between the doctor appointments. The disease has a way of teaching us what really matters, kiss that beautiful boy a lot, hug your husband and find the moments that we didn’t know to look for before the diagnosis. I will keep you and your family in my prayers.

    • We loved it and hope to come back one day. Your wife sounds amazing! Having done cancer one time, I can’t imagine the strength to fight not just one other time but two! Thank you for reading my story and love, peace and health to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

