My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

A Quick Update

5 Comments

I think some of you might have warned me that the first week after getting the DIEP Flap would be hard.  You are the tellers of truth.  Holy Shit!  This pain is real.  The tightness, the discomfort.  THE DRAINS!!!!!!!  The first day post-op was really the worst.  I didn’t think I was going to make it through.  But each day is getting better.  I do at least 3 laps around the apartment every few hours, which is good but mostly, I sleep.  I sleep a lot.  I get pretty loopy from the drugs but I’m already weaning off the oxyocdon, which I only take at night to help me sleep.  I take valium twice a day because, why not?  But that seriously knocks me out.

I guess, all in all, I’m doing as well or even better than expected.  That doesn’t feel like much right now.  I’ll update you all on the full story of my reconstruction experience shortly.  As soon as I can keep my eyes open for more than ten minutes.

This is the last step, right?

5 thoughts on “A Quick Update

  1. Sending you lots of positive thoughts and energy, Carrie! I hope you start to feel better soon.

  2. So glad you are doing better than you expected! Thinking of you and sending positive and healing vibes!

  3. I hated drains. With a passion. Rest up and hope you start feeling like yourself again!

  4. Carrie, I am glad you’re doing better than you were expecting. Allow yourself to take the time to rest and continue to heal. May each day get a little easier for you. And let me know when you’re ready for visits (no pressure!). xoxo

Leave a Reply

