My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Bits Of Happiness #21

Leave a comment

Today I had my post-op appointment with my plastic surgeon.  He said that I am doing really well.  While I need to be careful, I can slowly start getting back to normal life.  So what is the first thing I did?

I came home and crawled into my son’s toddler bed and snuggled him for the first time in over four weeks.   We did our bedtime rituals, we kissed each other, we talked about nothing in particular until his breathing got deep and his eyes got heavy.  I stayed longer than I should have.  But these days will be gone soon and I got a taste in these past few weeks of what it’s like for our nighttime snuggles to be gone.

I think the day when my baby becomes too big and doesn’t want me to hold him until he falls asleep will break my heart.  So, until then, I will crawl into that tiny toddler bed and hold him every night.  Because I can.

Leave a Reply

