My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Bits of Happiness #23

2 Comments

I survived my first week back at work after my DIEP Flap.  It went pretty well.  All of the students that I was seeing previously were really happy to see me.  They all told me how much they missed me and loved having me back.  For the most part, they were really well behaved, too!  I wonder how long that will last?

The week wasn’t without incident.  I started a new residency.  The students in this class are fantastic!  We had a really great time and I think they will end up creating a fantastic piece of theatre by the time June rolls around.  But the principal of the school…well…I think she might be crazy.  She yelled at me because I was OVER-prepared!!!!!  The group I’m teaching are ELLs (English Language Learners) and I was told that their level was very low.  When I hear this, I prepare a lot of visuals with vocabulary words I will be using.  I got yelled at by the principal that they knew all of this stuff and shouldn’t be doing it.

I let her know that it was my first day and since I never met them, I was just trying to be prepared.  My mistake, obviously.  Next time, I won’t prepare anything and maybe that will be better!!!  (I lie, I’ll keep doing what I’m doing because what I did ending up being fucking awesome so take that stupid, crazy principal!!!)

But the long days and the commuting have really exhausted me.  I feel a little something like this.

exhausted

At least I’ll sleep well tonight.

2 thoughts on “Bits of Happiness #23

  1. Carrie, I’m glad your first week back was a success. I don’t like that crazy principal. Regardless of this being your first day or not, you have experience and know your job. And the fact that you ‘over prepared’ shows how dedicated you are and how seriously you take this job (and your students). Anyway, glad it’s over and you have the weekend to recharge. Rest up! xx

Leave a Reply

