My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Bits Of Happiness #33

4 Comments

Today was one of those magical days when everything is just perfect.  I love days like today because I get to feel pure joy again.  I’m in such a rut so much of the time I wonder how I’ll ever dig myself out.  But then there is so much laughter, so much that is new, so much wonder and discovery that I remember what life is all about.

We started the day by leaving our house nice and early to watch Ken run the Brooklyn Half Marathon.  This was his sixth year running and it’s his favorite race.  It starts off in Prospect Park, goes down the beautiful, street lined Ocean Parkway and ends in the iconic Coney Island.  We don’t live far from Ocean Parkway so our first stop to see Ken was there, which was about mile 7.  We made him a special sign which all of the runners loved.  I asked Oliver how fast he thought his daddy was and, in his true subway obsessed style he answered, “Daddy is as fast as a Coney Island bound F express train.  The next stop is Coney Island!  Stand clear of the closing doors, please.  Ding-dong!”

Since the race ends at Coney Island, it’s tradition to get Nathan’s hot dogs when the race is done.  Hot dogs for breakfast?  Yes, please!!!!!!

After eating hot dogs, we went onto the boardwalk to watch some of the race.  They had cheerleaders, stilt walkers and, of course, the amazing view of the rides at Coney Island.

Even thought it was an overcast and chilly day, we made our way off the boardwalk and onto the beach to chase the waves.  They caught us but that’s why we pack a change of clothes, right?

Once we finished chasing the waves, we realized that the amusement parks were starting to open.  Last year Oliver was too afraid to do any of the rides, even the carousel, but this year he ran into the park pointing at all of the rides he wanted to try.  And he tried them all.  I couldn’t believe it!  It was so amazing to watch him experience the thrill of the hills of a rollercoaster, or the whip of the fast turn of a car or the spin of the Tilt-A-Whirl!  He couldn’t stop laughing and smiling.  Neither could I.

As we were going through this day and laughing and loving each other, I thought to myself, “This is why I do what I do.  This is why I go through the constant shit of treatment.  It’s for these days.  These moments.  These memories.”

Today was a wonderful day.

4 thoughts on “Bits Of Happiness #33

  1. Yes, a beautiful day….Thanks for sharing.

  2. Carrie, sorry I missed you at CI. I know we’ve planned to meet but it never worked out. Hopefully this summer we can. Your pictures are beautiful and each photo tells a story. That sign Oliver is holding is so sweet! His favorite train, the F. Glad you had a nice day with your family. xo

    • I know. I’m sorry I missed you too. The service was terrible down there that day. We probably passed each other and didn’t even know it. We were in the area until about 1:00.
      This summer, for sure!

Leave a Reply

