My Little Bs Have the Big C

A Breast Cancer Blog For Young Women

Two Year Mastectaversary

2 Comments

It’s hard to believe that two years ago, at this moment, doctors were standing over me and saving my life by amputating my breast.  I still remember the fear I felt that morning like it was yesterday.  It might as well have been yesterday.  But it’s been two whole years and it’s hard to wrap my brain around that.

Even though it’s been two years and I have had my initial DIEP Flap reconstruction, I still have more “tweaking” surgeries to go.  I want my plastic surgeon to fix the shape of my breast.  The symmetry is good and I even think the size but it’s still round and flat instead of cone shaped.  I also have to have nipple put on and I’m trying to decide if I want a realistic nipple tattoo or something a little more artsy and decorative.

So, the journey (I know some of you hate that word, I’m ok with it) is not over.  Far from it.  But look how far I’ve come?

Here is my mastectomy story.

This is why I chose a single over a double mastectomy.

A hospital packing list for your mastectomy.

How long did it take for you to finish all of your reconstruction surgeries?

Did you opt to go for a natural tattoo of the aureola or for something artsy and decorative?  How did you make that decision.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Two Year Mastectaversary

  1. Congratulations on two years!!! I just had my 4 year anniversary, so here’s to us!! May we have many more!
    I actually opted to do a double mastectomy (this was my second cancer and I thought taking both was the most prudent decision), and I opted not to do reconstruction. I was so focused on ridding my body of cancer and overall health, I did not want to put my body through anything that wasn’t required. At 4 years out, I don’t regret the decision. Just my opinion… I love the “fun” tattoo! Maybe not one that big, but I think there are some really beautiful options. Look forward to hearing what you decide.

    • Congratulations to you too!!!!! Thank you for sharing your reconstruction (or not) decision. I thought about doing nothing as well and almost opted for that. Not having to do the surgeries was certainly a consideration and a big draw.

Leave a Reply

